Shiori Matsumoto – Surrealist

EMPTY MIND

.This is my favorite one of her.

   ..

Shiori Matsumoto

I wrote a post about one of my favorite artists, Mark Ryden before. Now I am posting another one, Shiori Matsumoto. Actually, I could find Mark Ryden through her website. She is also surrealism artist. OH! and now I’m a facebook friend with her!!!!! So excited!!!

When I saw her paintings first, I was just soooo impressed. Because they are so beautiful with colors and there are girls in every painting. I really enjoy paintings with girls who have cold expressionless faces such as paintings of Frida kahlo, Mark Ryden, and Shiori. They are not crying  or smiling in paintings. But, when I see those paintings, I could feel something inside of them beyond the cold faces. I don’t know exactly what the artists wanted to say and what they thought. But, they always make me feel something so complicated and mixed. And, They are so dreamy so I feel like I’m in a dream for a while.

One day, My mom saw her paintings and said that they are creepy and bizzare. Hmm….. Well, I could understand her point of view a little. She doesn’t like this kind of paintings. But, I still think they are definitely beautiful even though they are sometimes very gloomy. I like the atmosphere. It makes me feel like I’m not a only one.

In her paintings, there are some symbols (or not). lots of birds, cages, masks, eggs, circus, cats, dolls…

.

▼ Click the banner and visit her website to see more her paintings!!

.A

About her..

  • She was born in 1973 in the Kagawa-prefecture of Japan.
  • She majored in interior design and Japanese woodcraft in high school.
  • And she studied Western art history and oil painting in The Kyoto Saga University of Arts.
  • She is influenced by surrealism, symbolism, modern illustration, and a lot of things in Japanese subculture.
  • Her oil paintings are dreamlike, melancholy and cryptic atmospheres with girls who play with imagination and try to change the world with their own ritual.

.

I’ve really wanted  to see her face.

Well…

I found one.

Here it is..

.

.

.

.

ONLY THIS!!!

.

I couldn’t find her pictures on her FB. (Even if I could, I wouldn’t upload here though.)

..

Here are some of her paintings I like!

and some my annoying comments. hehehehehehehe. soorry.

.

.

Some my favorite paintings of Her…

MELANCHOLY LIFE

SEAL

INNOCENCE

Lock your cage. It’s wild out there.

THE DREAM OF MINERAL

 Watch out the creepy guy behind the curtain.

DOMESTICATION

Go girl. Kick his ass. oh, wait. Where the eggs come from? He’s a rooster.

HOLE

Oh girl, what have you done to the woman?

Are you gonna call 911? or.. Someone called you and made you do that?

maybe not.

PRIVATE TIME

Busy girl. I wish I had many hands like you.

MEAL FOR HATCH

looks delicious. but eggs for hatch?

WINDY DAY

Keep taking care of the blue bird.

LOOKING FOR MY BIRD

Sorry. I don’t think your bird is there..

RETROGRESSION

Are you gonna be fish now? Fish doesn’t need those wings? can I take them?

ENDLESS DREAM

 

LOST CHILDREN -west town and east town-

You got lost, but you don’t cry at all.

Are you looking for your frieds? Look back. There she is.

WORD

Can you open Pandora’s box? only for me.

DEVIANT CHILD

You’d better let him go. He has scary eyes. I don’t like it..

THE SHIP ON GRASSLAND

START SIGNAL

MAGIC BOX

COMPLEX STEP

Doesn’t need to dance, if you don’t want to.

EWEARY PLAY

STORYTELLER

Don’t believe her.

APPLE BLOOD

BALOONS

BETWEEN YOU AND ME

THE SEA SOUNDS

3 comments

  1. We would love to post “Windy Day” at toemail if you do not mind? Would post a link to you and give credit to the artist, of course. http://toemail.wordpress.com

  2. It’s posted now. Thanks so much, we really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

