Mark Ryden – Pop Surrealist

  

▼ For more paintings and Information

.

   I still remember the moment I first saw his paintings on the Internet. I was so fascinated by his perfect paintings. Every detail was so cute and beguiling that I couldn’t take my eyes off them.

   I was a highschool student at that time. Believe or not, I had to stay in school literally from morning till night everyday except on Sundays. It means I was sitting at my desk at least 12 hours a day! I printed his paintings. Then, I taped some of them on my desk in school and kept the others in my study planner that I’ve always carried.

  When I was tired of studying, I looked at the printed paintings and got some power. I guess I could escape from monotonously repetitive reality that I’ve faced. And I might empathize with the chracters in his paintings. They had expressionless faces and blood.

BIOGRAPHY

  • Born in 1963, American painter.
  • One of the most well known artists of the Pop Surrealist movement.
  • Draws his inspiration from anything that will evoke mystery; old toys, anatomical models, stuffed animals, skeletons and religious ephemera found in flea markets.
  • Ryden’s pictures hint at the psychic stuff that pullulates beneath the sentimental, nostalgic and naive surface of modern kitsch.
  • Seduced by his infinitely detailed and meticulously glazed surfaces, the viewer is confronted with the juxtaposition of the childhood innocence and the mysterious recesses of the soul.
  • A subtle disquiet inhabits his paintings; the work is achingly beautiful as it hints at darker psychic stuff beneath the surface of cultural kitsch.
  • Ornately carved frames lend the paintings a baroque exuberance that adds gravity to their enigmatic themes.
  • His paintings have been exhibited in museums and galleries worldwide( But, not in Korea 😦 )

From ‘Wikipedia’ and ‘his official site’ (www.markryden.com/biography)

PAINTINGS

These are some his paintings I like.

I’m pretty sure that you can figure out what he likes to paint. 🙂

Pastel colors especially pink and Bees, Lincoln, Girls with expressionless face, Meat, Blood, Tree, Weird animals, Babies, Jesus, Bunnies…

The Grinder

Allegory of the Four Elements

The Butcher Bunny

Swap Meet Man

Corkey Ascending to the Heavens

The Birth

The Meat Magi

Sweat

Blood

Rosies Tea Party

Cloven bunny

Manus Christi

Fountain

Magic Circus

Sophia’s Bubbles

One comment

  1. Pingback: Shiori Matsumoto – Surrealist « Three Eyed Optimist

Leave a Reply

